Fair Housing

Department of Community and Economic Development

Fair Housing Laws

Federal and state fair housing laws protect everyone. Housing discrimination is prohibited based on:

  • Race/Color
  • National Origin/Ancestry
  • Sex
  • Disability
  • Religion
  • Familial Status
  • Military Status

Local laws may also prohibit discrimination against:

  • Sexual Orientation
  • Marital Status
  • Creed
  • Age
  • Gender Identity
  • Source of Income

The Geauga County Board of Commissioners established the Geauga Fair Housing Commission, an entity consisting of 7 members who are residents of and/or work in Geauga County. The Fair Housing Commission: identifies impediments to Fair Housing, provides education for residents, landlords and home seekers, and disseminates information on Fair Housing, encouraging freedom of choice in housing for all citizens to eliminate discrimination in housing.

Local Fair Housing Contact

Geauga County Community and Economic Development
12611 Ravenwood Drive, Suite 370
Chardon, Ohio 44024
Phone: 440-279-1790