Planning Commission

Of Geauga County

Geauga County Planning Commission

The Geauga County Planning Commission was established on January 1, 1957 by the Geauga County Board of County Commissioners. The Commission consists of eleven members: the three County Commissioners and eight resident members who are appointed by the County Commissioners. The primary responsibilities of the Commission and its staff are enforcement of the Geauga County Subdivision Regulations, provide advice and recommendations to townships regarding zoning amendments, prepare the county land use plan, and census data analysis. Per Ohio Revised Code 713.23 the Commission can also prepare plans, studies, maps, recommendations, and reports on various topics including but not limited to land use, transportation, farmland, utilities, and natural resources.

Geauga County Planning Commission
12611 Ravenwood Dr. Suite #380
Chardon, Ohio 44024
Direct Line: (440) 279-1740
Email: [email protected]

Planning Commission Members

  • John Oros
  • Nicholas Gorris
    Vice Chairman
  • Gary Neola, Jr.
  • Dennis Bergansky
  • Caterina Cocca-Fulton
  • Walter “Skip” Claypool
  • James Dvorak
    County Commissioner
  • Timothy Lennon
    County Commissioner
  • James McCaskey
  • Dan Miller
  • Ralph Spidalieri
    County Commissioner

Geauga County Planning Commission


  • Review of subdivisions
  • Review of zoning amendments and give zoning advice to local communities
  • Provide census data
  • Prepare community land use plan


The Planning Commission Offices will be closed on the following days:

  • New Year’s Day
  • MLK
  • Presidents Day
  • Memorial Day
  • Juneteenth
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Columbus Day
  • Veterans Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Day after Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Day

Any holidays falling on Sunday will be observed the following Monday. Holidays falling on Saturday will be observed on the preceding Friday.